This project is read-only.

How to come up with my own design using your awesome effort

Jan 23, 2014 at 8:53 PM
Edited Jan 23, 2014 at 8:54 PM
I am new to sharepoint 2013 and designing seems a steep learning for me cause of responsive design factor..I am a old SharePoint 2010 designing guy who use to mess up with CoreV4 and override CSS..then mess with masterpage in designer and play with menus.

I have a SharePoint 2013 brand new server (Enterprise) should I go for foundation or bootstrap..secondly..using your masterpage how to come up with my own company's branding like this one ..See this Layout I want

Would appreciate your patience with a newbie like me in SP 2013 branding world :)
Jan 23, 2014 at 10:03 PM
Hi,

I suggest the Bootstrap 3 framework as a starting place. Bootstrap has the largest user base and I think the grid is solid.

You will not be editing the covev15.css file or any OOTB SP file for that matter, rather you will be overriding with custom CSS in a custom stylesheet that loads after the SP OOTB branding assets. All of this is already set up in any of this project's frameworks.

As for your design, I do not see anything particularly challenging. I believe your biggest headaches will be learning "responsive" in general. Although this project seeks to help you get over the initial hurdles of RWD and SP, there is still a lot of RWD theory and CSS that is worth spending time learning.

My suggestion then is to load one of this project's installs on a 2013 dev web app and play around with it. See how things work and make some changes and see what happens. After that, spend time in your browser's dev toolbar and get to know the css.

I hope this helps.

Eric.
Jan 24, 2014 at 6:37 PM
Hi Eric,